FCPS Names Shannyn DeHaven its 2021 Teacher of the Year

FCPS Names Shannyn DeHaven its 2021 Teacher of the Year
Posted on 08/18/2020
Shannyn DeHavenFor Immediate Release
August 18, 2020
Contact: Steve Edwards, Coordinator of Policy and Communications
540-662-3888 ext. 88235

James Wood High School Math Teacher Shannyn DeHaven has been named Frederick County Public Schools’ 2021 Teacher of the Year. Superintendent of Schools David Sovine visited James Wood High School yesterday to surprise DeHaven with the award.

She began her teaching career at Sherando High School in 2000 and has been teaching at James Wood High School since January 2015. DeHaven, who has a bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Shenandoah University and a master’s degree in education leadership from George Mason University, originally planned to pursue a career in business. However, while completing a business internship in New York City, she realized something was missing. DeHaven says, “I knew I wanted to influence lives in a meaningful way. It was during that summer that I chose public service and my love of learning over the hustle and bustle of the business world. I wanted to influence people in a positive way and share my love of learning.” She adds, “My greatest contributions to education are the relationships I have formed with my students, the high expectations I have held for my students, and the realistic goals I have helped my students achieve regardless of the challenges they face.”

Sovine says, “Mrs. DeHaven is an outstanding role model for her students and other educators. She possesses a passion for helping others, a love of learning, and a desire to build meaningful relationships with students so that she can better understand each of them and help them reach their full potential. She exemplifies the high-quality educators across our school division that are helping us work toward our vision of being an innovative community where caring relationships and authentic learning inspire all students.”

DeHaven was one of three finalists for the Teacher of the Year Award. The other finalists were Evendale Elementary School Kindergarten Teacher Gina Carty and Armel Elementary School First Grade Teacher Samantha Willoughby. The other nominees were: Bonnie Bennett, Apple Pie Ridge Elementary School; Kelly Malinowski, Bass-Hoover Elementary School; Holly Bartley, Gainesboro Elementary School; Joy Campbell, Greenwood Mill Elementary School; Julie Kimmick, Indian Hollow Elementary School; Aileen Seelbach, Middletown Elementary School, Cathy Oldham, Orchard View Elementary School; Hillary Glascock, Redbud Run Elementary School; Cassie Bell, Stonewall Elementary School; Michelle Hammer, Admiral Richard E. Byrd Middle School; Anna Moffett- Thompson, Frederick County Middle School; Katie Sugay, James Wood Middle School; Angela Dibert, Robert E. Aylor Middle School; Teresa Hartman, Millbrook High School; Richard “Neil” Walker, Sherando High School; Elizabeth Headley, Dowell J. Howard Center; and Sheryl Anderson, Northwestern Regional Educational Programs/Senseny Road School.

Frederick County Public Schools initiated the Teacher of the Year program in 1990. Each spring, every school site nominates one candidate for the Teacher of the Year Award. Each candidate is asked to complete an application which is reviewed by a committee of community leaders and educators. Three finalists are selected and interviewed to determine the Frederick County Teacher of the Year. The recipient of the award represents Frederick County in the Virginia Teacher of the Year program.

The Teacher of the Year receives a plaque; a gold signet ring featuring the school division’s logo encircled by the words “Teacher of the Year”; a $3,000 spending account to be used for instructional materials, supplies or travel; and a $250 gift card. In addition, the winner's name is placed on a permanent plaque in the board room at the Frederick County Public Schools Administration Building. The Teacher of the Year runners-up receive a plaque; a $1,000 spending account to be used for instructional materials, supplies or travel; and a $250 gift card.

Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield sponsored this year’s Teacher of the Year Award. The ring given to the Teacher of the Year is provided by Gregg Miller, the local representative of the Herff Jones Company. The gift cards awarded to the Teacher of the Year and the two runnersup were donated by McGriff Insurance Services.